Nebraska Concealed Carry Permits
Notably, Nebraska law does not prohibit openly carrying a firearm.
Until 2006, concealed carry was illegal under most circumstances. That year, the Legislature passed LB 454, the Concealed Handgun Permit Act19, which provides the framework for legally carrying concealed handguns. The act was 10 years in the making. A measure to allow concealed carry was first introduced in 1996 and
reintroduced continually in the Legislature until it passed. Under the act, concealed means “the handgun is totally hidden from view. If any part of the handgun is capable of being seen, it is not a concealed handgun.”
Applicants for a concealed carry permit must:
Be at least 21 years of age;
• Not be prohibited from purchasing or possessing
a handgun by 18 U.S.C. 922, as that section existed
on January 1, 2005;
• Have eyesight sufficient to possess a Class O
• Not have been convicted of a felony under
Nebraska or any other jurisdiction;
• Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor crime
of violence in the past 10 years;
• Not have been found in the previous 10 years to
be a mentally ill and dangerous person under
the Nebraska Mental Health Commitment Act or a
similar law of another jurisdiction or not be
currently adjudged mentally incompetent;
• Have been a Nebraska resident for at least
180 days, a member of the U.S. Armed Forces
stationed at a military base in the state pursuant
to permanent duty station orders or a spouse of
such military member, or a new Nebraska resident
with a concealed carry permit issued from the
applicant’s former state of residence if that state’s
standards for a concealed carry permit are the
same or more stringent than Nebraska’s;
• Not have had a conviction of any law of Nebraska
or other jurisdiction relating to firearms, unlawful
use of a weapon, or controlled substances within
10 years preceding the date of application;
• Not be on parole, probation, or work release; and
• Provide proof of training.
Applications for a concealed carry permit are made to the State Patrol. Applicants must have a valid state identification card, pay a $100 fee, be fingerprinted, and undergo a rigorous background check, including using the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS), the Nebraska sex offender registry, and mental health records maintained by the Department of Health and Human Services.
Applicants who meet the statutory requirements must be issued the permit within 45 days of application. Applicants can appeal denials.
Notably, the concealed carry permit can be used to purchase handguns in Nebraska instead of the handgun purchase certificate, because the concealed carry permit meets the standards of the federal Brady Act as approved by the ATF.
Click here to download the Nebraska Concealed Handgun Permit Application